Skip to main content
Center for Research on Ingredient Safety

CRIS External Advisory Committee

The role of the External Advisory Committee (EAC) will be to provide rigorous oversight of the long-term quality of the scientific output, productivity and overall performance of CRIS on an annual basis. The EAC will be comprised of scientific leaders from industry, academia, government and non-governmental organizations with relevant experience. The EAC composition will ensure that CRIS functions in a scientifically sound and objective manner to protect the program’s autonomy and independence from any one sectors interests, to ensure a balance of interests across all stakeholders, and to ensure that objectivity and the program’s credibility are always maintained. The EAC will also provide advice to the program on research, publication strategies, and outreach and communications activities. Members of the EAC will be nominated or elected on a limited and rotating term basis ensuring that no one person or entity has undue influence over CRIS while also ensuring continuity. Last, the EAC will also be responsible for making recommendations to the Internal Advisory Committee for new committee member appointments for both the EAC and the Emerging Issues Committee (i.e., CRIS's scientific steering committee), when the terms of committee members conclude.

External Advisory Committee Members:

Corey BerendsCorey Berends, Senior Vice President, Research, Quality and Innovation, Con Agra Foods



Alan BoobisAlan Boobis, Professor, Imperial College of London




Leon BrunerLeon Bruner, Senior Vice President, Grocery Manufacturers Association (GMA)




John BucherJohn Bucher, Associate Director, National Toxicology Program (NTP), National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)



Suzanne FitzpatrickSuzanne Fitzpatrick, Senior Science Policy Advisor, Center for Food Safety and Nutrition (CFSAN), Food and Drug Administration (FDA)



A. Wallace HayesA. Wallace Hayes, Visiting Faculty, Harvard University; Adjunct Professor, University of South Florida, College of Public Health



Timothy HaleyTimothy Haley, Director of Regulatory Affairs, Bush Brothers and Company




Richard LaneRichard Lane, Director of Corporate Scientific Affairs, PepsiCo.




David TonucciDavid Tonucci, Global Head, Product Safety & Regulatory, Flavours, Givaudan Flavors Corp.




Connie WeaverConnie Weaver, Distinguished Professor and Department Head, Purdue University




Subscribe to the CRIS Connects Newsletter

Save The Date! The 2017 CRIS Annual Meeting will be held at ASU’s Phoenix campus on October 4 – 5, 2017. Please contact Adelle Simmons at for more details.